John Wainwright
Superintendent Charles Ripley, head of the uniform branch in Yorkshire, England:

Evil Intent (1966)

The Worms Must Wait (1967)

Freeze the Body Less Coldly (1970)

A Touch of Malice (1973)

The Hard Hit (1974)

Death of a Big Man (1975)

Superintendent Gillant, chief constable in Yorkshire, England:

The Crystallized Carbon Pig (1966)

Requiem for a Loser (1972)

Landscape with Violence (1975)

A Ripple of Murders (1978)

Chief Inspector Lennox, detective chief inspector in Yorkshire, England:

The Evidence I Shall Give (1974)

Square Dance (1975)

Pool of Tears (1977)

Take Murder… (1979)
Finalist 1979 Gold Dagger Award

Inspector Lyle, a detective inspector in Yorkshire, England:

Duty Elsewhere (1979)

Brainwash (1979)

Dominoes (1980)

The Man Who Wasn’t There (1989)

Hangman’s Lane (1992)


Death in a Sleeping City (1965)

Ten Steps to the Gallows (1965)

Talent for Murder (1967)

The Darkening Glass (1968)

Edge of Extinction (1968)

Web of Silence (1968)

The Big Tickle (1969)

The Take-Over Men (1969)

Prynter's Devil (1970)

Dig the Grave and Let Him Lie (1971)

The Last Buccaneer (1971)

Night Is a Time to Die (1972)

A Pride of Pigs (1973)

The Devil You Don’t (1973)

High-Class Kill (1973)

Cause for a Killing (1974)

Kill the Girls and Make Them Cry (1974)

Coppers Don’t Cry (1975)

Acquittal (1976)

The Bastard (1976)

Who Goes Next? (1976)

Walther P.38 (1976)

A Nest of Rats (1977)

The Day of the Peppercorn Kill (1977)
Finalist 1977 Gold Dagger Award

Do Nothin’ Till You Hear from Me (1977)

Death Certificate (1978 (1982)

The Jury People (1978)

Thief of Time (1978)

Home Is the Hunter [and] The Big Kayo (1979)

The Reluctant Sleeper (1979)

Tension (1979)

A Kill of Small Consequence (1980)

The Eye of the Beholder (1980)

Man of Law (1980)

The Tainted Man (1980)

The Venus Fly-Trap (1980)

All on a Summer’s Day (1981)

An Urge for Justice (1981)

Anatomy of a Riot (1982)

Blayde R.I.P. (1982)

The Distaff Factor (1982)

Their Evil Ways (1983)

Heroes No More (1983)

Spiral Staircase (1983)

Cul-de-Sac (1984)

The Forest (1984)

All through the Night (1985)

Clouds of Guilt (1985)

The Ride (1985)

Portrait in Shadows (1986)

The Tenth Interview (1986)
Finalist 1988 Macavity Award for Best Novel

The Forgotten Murders (1987)

A Very Parochial Murder (1988)

Blind Brag (1988)

The Gauntley Incident (1990)

Sabbath Morn (1993)

Murder Story (1994)

The Life and Times of Christmas Calvert… Assassin (1995)

Written as Jack Ripley
John George Davis, a small-town constable in England, is featued in:

Davis Doesn’t Live Here Any More (1971)

The Pig Got Up and Slowly Walked Away (1971)

My Word You Should Have Seen Us (1972)

My God How the Money Rolls In (1972)

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle