Brian Freemantle
Charlie Muffin, an experienced, rumpled, working-class British agent:

Charlie Muffin1 (1977)
APA: Charlie M (1977) [review]

Clap Hands, Here Comes Charlie1 (1978)
APA: Here Comes Charlie M (1978)

The Inscrutable Charlie Muffin1 (1979)

Charlie Muffin’s Uncle Sam (1980)
APA: Charlie Muffin U.S.A. (1980)

Madrigal for Charlie Muffin (1981)

Charlie Muffin and Russian Rose (1985)
APA: The Blind Run (1986)
Finalist 1987 Edgar Award for Best Mystery

Charlie Muffin San (1987)
APA: See Charlie Run (1987)

The Runaround (1988)

Comrade Charlie (1989)

Charlie’s Apprentice (1993)

Charlie’s Chance (1996)
APA: Bomb Grade (1997)

Dead Men Living (2000)

Kings of Many Castles (2001)

Red Star Rising (2010)

Red Star Burning (2012)
Finalist 2013 Barry Award for Best Thriller

Red Star Falling (2013)

Dimitri Danilov, a Colonel in the Moscow People’s Militia, later the Organized Crime Bureau, and William Cowley, an FBI agent and Russian expert:

The Button Man (1992)
APA: In the Name of a Killer (1997)

No Time for Heroes (1994)

The Watchmen (2002)

Triple Cross (2004)

Sebastian Holmes, fathered out of wedlock by Sherlock Holmes while recuperating from his tumble off the Reichenbach Falls:

The Holmes Inheritance (2004)

The Holmes Factor (2005)


Goodbye to an Old Friend (1973)

Face Me When You Walk Away (1974)

The Man Who Wanted Tomorrow (1975)

The November Man (1976)

The Vietnam Legacy (1984)

The Lost American (1984)

Rules of Engagement (1984)

Deaken’s War2 (1985)

The Kremlin Kiss (1986)

Dirty White3 (1986)

The Choice of Eddie Franks4 (1987)

The Bearpit (1988)

Betrayals (1989)

The Factory (1990) [SS]

O’Farrell’s Law (1990)

Little Grey Mice (1991)

Kremlin Conspiracy5 (1997)

At Any Price6 (1998)

Gold7 (1998)

The Iron Cage8 (1999)

Target (2000)

Hell’s Paradise (2001)

Ice Age (2002)

Two Women (2003)

Dead End (2004)

To Save a Son (2006)

Time to Kill (2006)

The Namedropper (2007)

The Cloud Collector (2015)

Written as Jonathan Evans

Misfire (1980)

The Midas Men (1981)
APA: The Sagomi Gambit (1983)

Chairman of the Board (1982)
APA: Takeover (1982)

The Solitary Man9 (1983)

Monopoly (1984)
APA: The Kremlin Connection (1984)

The Laundryman10 (1985)

Written as Jack Winchester:

The Solitary Man11 (1980)

Deaken’s War12 (1982)

The Choice of Eddie Franks13 (1986)

Written as Harry Asher
Claudine Carter, an Anglo-French forensic psychologist and criminal profiler working for Europol, in Europe:

The Profiler (1997)
APA: Mind/Reader (1998) [written as Brian Freemantle]

The Predators (1998)

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle