David Morrell
Rambo an American soldier of fortune:

First Blood (1972)

Rambo: First Blood, Part II (1985)

Rambo III (1988)

Saul Grisman and Drew MacLane, international operatives, in the Brotherhood series:

The Brotherhood of the Rose (1984)

The Fraternity of the Stone (1985)

The League of Night and Fog (1987)

Cavanaugh, a former Delta Force member and his team providing protection for hire:

The Protector (2003)

The Naked Edge (2010)

The Attitude Adjuster (2012) [3 ebook SS]

Frank Balenger, an ex-U.S. Army Ranger and Iraqi war veteran, now urban adventurer:

Creepers (2005)

Scavenger (2007)

Thomas De Quincey, author of Confessions of an Opium Eater, and his wily daughter Emily, in 1850s London, England:

Murder as a Fine Art (2013)
2014 Macavity Award for Best Historical Mystery
2014 Nero Award
Finalist 2014 Left Coast Crime Bruce Alexander Award

Inspector of the Dead (2015) [review]
Finalist 2016 Thriller Award for Best Novel

Ruler of the Night (2016)


Testament (1975)

Last Reveille (1977)

The Totem (1979)

Blood Oath (1982)

The Hundred-Year Christmas (1983)

Black Evening (1984) [SS]

The Fifth Profession (1990)

The Covenant of the Flame (1991)

Assumed Identity (1993)

Desperate Measures (1994)

Extreme Denial (1996)

Double Image (1998)

Black Evening (2000)

Burnt Sienna (2000)

Long Lost (2002)

Nightscape (2004) [SS]

The Spy Who Came for Christmas (2008)

The Shimmer (2009)

Before I Wake (2019) [SS]


Thrillers: 100 Must Reads (2010)
[with Hank Wagner]
Finalist 2011 Anthony Award for Best Nonfiction


Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle