Alexander McCall Smith
Mma Precious Ramotswe, owner of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, and her assistant, Mma Grace Makutsi, in Botswana:

The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency (1998)

Tears of the Giraffe (2000)

Morality for Beautiful Girls (2001)

The Kalahari Typing School for Men (2002)

The Full Cupboard of Life (2003)

In the Company of Cheerful Ladies (2004)

Blue Shoes and Happiness (2006)

The Good Husband of Zebra Drive (2007)

The Miracle at Speedy Motors (2008)

Tea Time for the Traditionally Built (2009)

The Double Comfort Safari Club (2010)

The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party (2011)

The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection (2012)

The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon (2013)

The Handsome Man’s Deluxe Café (2014)

The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine (2015)

Precious and Grace (2016)

The House of Unexpected Sisters (2017)

The Colours of All the Cattle (2018)

To the Land of Long Lost Friends (2019)

How To Raise an Elephant (2020)

The Joy and Light Bus Company (2021)

Isabel Dalhousie, a Scottish-American editor of the esteemed Review of Applied Ethics and a woman of independent means in Edinburgh, Scotland, in the Sunday Philosophy Club mysteries:

The Sunday Philosophy Club (2004)

Friends, Lovers, Chocolate (2005)

The Right Attitude to Rain (2006)

The Careful Use of Compliments (2007)

The Comforts of a Muddy Saturday (2008)
APA: The Comfort of Saturdays (2008)

The Lost Art of Gratitude (2009)

The Charming Quirks of Others (2010)

The Forgotten Affairs of Youth (2011)

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds (2012)

The Novel Habits of Happiness (2015)

A Distant View of Everything (2017)

The Quiet Side of Passion (2018)

The Geometry of Holding Hands (2020)

Ulf Varg and other detectives in the Department of Sensitive Crimes, in Malmo, Sweden:

The Department of Sensitive Crimes (2019)

The Talented Mr. Varg (2020)

The Man with the Silver Saab (2021)

Other fiction, Professor Dr Moritz-Maria von Igelfeld:

Portuguese Irregular Verbs (2003)

The Finer Points of Sausage Dogs (2003)

At the Villa of Reduced Circumstances (2003)

Unusual Uses for Olive Oil (2011)

Your Inner Hedgehog (2021)

Other fiction, 44 Scotland Street:

44 Scotland Street (2005)

Espresso Tales (2005)

Love over Scotland (2006)

The World According to Bertie (2007)

The Unbearable Lightness of Scones (2008)

The Importance of Being Seven (2010)

Bertie Plays the Blues (2011)

Sunshine on Scotland Street (2012)

Bertie’s Guide to Life and Mothers (2013)

The Revolving Door of Life (2015)

The Bertie Project (2016)

A Time of Love and Tartan (2017)

The Peppermint Tea Chronicles (2019)

A Promise of Ankles (2020)

Other fiction, Corduroy Mansions:

Corduroy Mansions (2009)

The Dog That Came in from the Cold (2010)

A Conspiracy of Friends (2011)

Other fiction, Paul Stewart, a food and wine writer:

My Italian Bulldozer (2016)

The Second Worst Restaurant in France (2018)

Other fiction:

La’s Orchestra Saves the World (2009)

Trains and Lovers (2013)

The Forever Girl (2014)

Fatty O’Leary’s Dinner Party (2014)

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle