Michael Innes
John Innes Mackintosh Stewart
John Appleby, a detective rising through the ranks to Commissioner of Metropolitan Police, at Scotland Yard in London, England:

Death at the President’s Lodging (1936)
APA: Seven Suspects (1937)

Hamlet, Revenge! (1937) [review]

Lament for a Maker (1938)

Stop Press (1939)
APA: The Spider Strikes (1939)

There Came Both Mist and Snow (1940)
APA: A Comedy of Terrors (1940)

The Secret Vanguard (1940)

Appleby on Ararat (1941)

The Daffodil Affair (1942)

The Weight of the Evidence (1943)

Appleby’s End (1945)

A Night of Errors (1947)

Operation Pax (1951)
APA: The Paper Thunderbolt (1951)

A Private View (1952)
APA: One Man Show (1952)

Appleby Talking: Twenty-Three Detective Stories (1954) [SS]
APA: Dead Man’s Shoes(1954) [SS]

Appleby Talks Again: Eighteen Detective Stories (1956) [SS]

Appleby Plays Chicken (1956)
APA: Death on a Quiet Day (1957)

The Long Farewell (1958)

Hare Sitting Up (1959)

Silence Observed (1961)

A Connoisseur’s Case (1962)
APA: The Crabtree Affair (1962)

The Bloody Wood (1966)

Appleby at Allington (1968)
APA: Death by Water (1968)
Finalist 1968 Gold Dagger Award

A Family Affair (1969)
APA: Picture of Guilt (1969)

Death at the Chase (1970)

An Awkward Lie (1971)

The Open House (1972)

Appleby’s Answer (1973)

Appleby’s Other Story (1974)

The Appleby File (1975) [SS]

The “Gay Phoenix” (1977)

The Ampersand Papers (1978)

Sheiks and Adders (1982)

Appleby and Honeybath1 (1983)

Carson’s Conspiracy (1984)

Appleby and the Ospreys (1987)

Charles Honeybath, a portrait painter in London, England:

The Mysterious Commission (1974)

Honeybath’s Haven (1977)

Lord Mullion’s Secret (1981)

Appleby and Honeybath2 (1983)


From London Far (1946)
APA: The Unsuspected Chasm (1946)

What Happened at Hazelwood (1946)

The Journeying Boy (1949)
APA: The Case of the Journeying Boy (1949)

Christmas at Candleshoe (1953)

The Man from the Sea (1955)

Old Hall, New Hall (1956)
APA: A Question of Queens (1956)

The New Sonia Wayward (1960)
APA: The Case of Sonia Wayward (1960)

Money from Holme (1964)

A Change of Heir (1966)

Going It Alone (1980)

Written as J.I.M. Stewart (real name):

An Open Prison (1984)


Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle