Martin Edwards
Harry Devlin, a solicitor in Liverpool, England:

All the Lonely People (1991)

Suspicious Minds (1992)

I Remember You (1993)

Yesterday's Papers (1994)

Eve of Destruction (1996)

The Devil in Disguise (1998)

The First Cut Is the Deepest (1999)

Waterloo Sunset (2008)

Daniel Kind, retired Oxford historian, and Detective Chief Inspector Hannah Scarlett of the Cold Case Squad, in the Lake District of England:

The Coffin Trail (2004) [review]

The Cipher Garden (2005)

The Arsenic Labyrinth (2007)

The Serpent Pool (2010)

The Hanging Wood (2011)

The Frozen Shroud (2013)

The Dungeon House (2015)

Rachel Savernake, an eccentric female criminologist, and Jacob Flint, a tabloid journalist in 1930s London, England, in the Golden Age mysteries:

Gallows Court (2018) [review]

Mortmain Hall (2020)


Where Do You Find Your Ideas? And Other Crime Stories (2001) [SS]

Take My Breath Away (2002)

Dancing for the Hangman (2008)

Serpents in Eden: Countryside Crime (2016) [SS] [editor]

Crimson Snow: Winter Mysteries (2016) [SS] [editor]

The Long Arm of the Law [SS] [editor]


Catching Killers: The Inside Story of Murderers and Their Downfalls (2002)

The Golden Age of Murder: The Mystery of the Writers Who Invented the Modern Detective Story (2015)
2015 Agatha Award for Best Non-fiction
2016 Edgar Award for Best Critical Biographical
2016 Macavity Award for Best Critical/Biographical
Finalist 2016 Anthony Award for Best Critical or Nonfiction

The Story of Classic Crime in 100 Books (2017)
2018 Macavity Award for Best Mystery-related Non-fiction
Finalist 2017 Agatha Award for Best Non-fiction
Finalist 2018 Anthony Award for Best Critical/Non-fiction

Home | Facebook | SYKM Store | SYKM Amazon | SYKM Kindle